Home > Arbitron, Leadership, Listeners, Management, Programming, Radio, Talent, Uncategorized > How Frank Do You Want Me To Be?

How Frank Do You Want Me To Be?

Nearly everyday I get a request from somebody for “feedback.” Sometimes it’s an employee, sometimes a peer or mentor, and sometimes a complete stranger out-of-the-blue wanting “an honest assessment of their work.”

This is tricky.

In nearly every situation, I find most people — and yes, you maybe the exception – are looking to find out what’s “right” about what they are doing. They are looking for positive feedback, affirmation, and reassurance. They crave a verbal hug.

But, “feedback” and “honest assessments” are typically just the opposite.

Programmers are taught to listen for what’s wrong, not what’s right. And it’s still my instinct too.

I listen to a tape/cd/mp3 and think, “that was weak, that’s not right, that missed the mark, what is she thinking?, why would he say that? where are they going with this bit?”

Is that what you’re looking for? Or do you want to know what’s right?

My experience tells me the latter. Nearly every time I’ve provided an “honest assessment” of a talent’s work it leads to defensiveness, excuses, and rebellion (ie. I don’t care what you think, I’m going with my gut.)

The key, as with most things, is balance. I’m working hard to focus on strengths and weaknesses, knowing it’s easier to enhance a strength than overcome a weakness. This doesn’t mean weaknesses aren’t worth overcoming, but it certainly takes more effort and time.

The easiest solution to this is to ask for what you want. Instead of asking for general feedback, ask for specifics;

– What am I doing right?

– How can I do better?

– What’s missing from my performance?

– How can I increase TSL?

– What can I do differently to be more valuable to the radio station?

– How can improve the listener experience?

– Where should I focus more of my effort?

Specific questions lead to specific answers. Be prepared – you may just get what you ask for.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

