Home > Producers, Talent, Topic Development > 102 Websites for Radio Hosts, Producers, Anchors and Reporters

102 Websites for Radio Hosts, Producers, Anchors and Reporters

ImageWe all have the same sources and information to produce news, talk and, but it’s what we do with that information, how we tell the stories, how deep we dive and how we surprise our audiences that sets us apart. So, why not share our favorite bookmarks?

One must know website is www.headslinger.com. A site which allows you to view headlines from all your favorite sites in one spot. Check it out.

I asked 20 hosts, producers, reporters and anchors what their ‘go-to’ websites are for stories. Aside from social media sites, especially twitter, here are the 72 sites they listed and additional sites submitted by readers. Special thanks to Eric Jon Magnuson at North American Network, Inc. for contributing great international and humanitarian news sites.

UPDATED: 11:50 a.m. 01/03/2014

National Newspapers & Magazines

Chicago Tribune www.chicagotribune.com

Daily Beast www.dailybeast.com

Dallas Morning News www.dallasnews.com

The Guardian www.guardiannews.com

Los Angeles Times www.latimes.com

New York Times www.nytimes.com

Newsweek http://www.thedailybeast.com/newsweek.html

San Francisco Chronicle www.sfgate.com

Seattle Times www.seattletimes.com

Time Magazine www.time.com

USA Today www.usatoday.com

U.S. News & World Report — http://www.usnews.com

Wall Street Journal www.wsj.com

National News Sites

Associated Press http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/fronts/HOME?SITE=AP

The Business Insider www.businessinsider.com

Consortium News http://consortiumnews.com/

The Economist — http://www.economist.com

NewsLink – LINKS All US Papers, Radio & TV http://newslink.org/

Reuters www.reuters.com

Salon www.salon.com

Science News www.sciencenews.com

Yahoo News http://news.yahoo.com/

Aggregators, Entertainment, Gossip, Commentary

All Access Talk Topics www.allaccess.com/talktopics 

American Journalism Review http://ajr.org/

Boing Boing www.boingboing.net

Breaking News  www.breakingnews.com

Breitbart www.breitbart.com

Bust Magazine – fierce, funny, and proud to be female www.bust.com

Buzz Feed www.buzzfeed.com

Cracked www.cracked.com

The Daily Caller www.dailycaller.com

Daily Swarm – music news www.dailyswarm.com

Digg www.digg.com

Drudge Report www.drudgereport.com

Fark www.fark.com

Gawker www.gawker.com

Google News https://news.google.com/

Head Slinger “All the news, half the time” http://www.headslinger.com/

The Hollywood Reporter www.hollywoodreporter.com

Huffington Post www.huffingtonpost.com

Movie City News www.moviecitynews.com

Newser www.newser.com

The Onion – parody – www.theonion.com

Reddit – www.reddit.com

Rolling Stone www.rollingstone.com

TMZ www.tmz.com

Politics/Political Commentary

538 Blog by Nate Silver www.fivethirtyeight.blogs.nytimes.com

Data Ferrett www.dataferrett.census.gov   data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements.

Foreign Policy — http://www.foreignpolicy.com

Hot Air www.hotair.com

McClatchy’s national/international-news portal — http://www.mcclatchydc.com

National Review Online – conservative commentary – www.nationalreview.com

Real Clear Politics www.realclearpolitics.com

Reason (almost certainly the best source of libertarian news and commentary in the U.S.) — http://reason.com

Slate www.slate.com

Talking Points Memo –Commentary from a political left perspective www.talkingpointsmemo.com

Technology & Digital Culture

Geekwire www.geekwire.com

Gizmodo www.gizmodo.com

Mashable www.mashable.com

Nerdist www.nerdist.com

Wired www.wired.com

International News Sites

ABC (Australia) — http://www.abc.net.au/news (main news section) and http://www.abc.net.au/news/australianetworknews (subsite for Australia Network [related international TV service])

AllAfrica — http://allafrica.com

BBC www.bbc.com

CBC www.cbc.ca

Daily Mail www.dailymail.co.uk

Euronews — http://www.euronews.com

France 24 (related international TV service) — http://www.france24.com

Global Voices — http://globalvoicesonline.org

International Business Times (Newsweek’s new owner) — http://www.ibtimes.com

Inter Press Service — http://www.ipsnews.net

News.com.au (main portal for News Corp.’s Australian properties) — http://www.news.com.au

One World http://us.oneworld.net/

Radio Australia (related international service) — http://www.radioaustralia.net.au

Radio France Internationale — http://www.english.rfi.fr

The Sun www.thesun.co.uk

Humanitarian News Sites

Christian Science Monitor — http://www.csmonitor.com

Deutsche Welle — http://www.dw.de

GlobalPost — http://www.globalpost.com (including aggregated wire-service content at http://www.globalpost.com/wires)

Integrated Regional Information Networks — http://www.irinnews.org

ProPublica — http://www.propublica.org

ReliefWeb — http://reliefweb.intThomson Reuters Foundation — http://www.trust.org

The Road to the Horizon – Blogs by aid workers around the world http://www.theroadtothehorizon.org/2010/06/blogroll-aid-blogs.html

Voice of America — http://www.voanews.com

National TV Networks & Shows

ABC New www.abcnews.com

CBS News www.cbsnews.com

CNN www.cnn.com

Fox News www.foxnews.com

MSNBC www.msnbc.com

NBC News www.nbcnews.com

OWN – www.oprah.com/own

PBS NewsHour — http://www.pbs.org/newshour

Today Show – www.today.com

Sports

Bar Stool Sports www.barstoolsports.com

Deadspin www.deadspin.com

ESPN www.espn.com

Fox Sports http://msn.foxsports.com/

Grantland www.grantland.com

SB Nation www.sbnation.com

Sports Grid www.sportsgrid.com

Sports Illustrated www.si.com

Sports Press Northwest www.sportspressnw.com

Yahoo Sports http://sports.yahoo.com/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 23, 2013 at 8:20 AM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: